Discovery: The First Recordings

Grover Washington Jr / Various Artists

Initial release : 2001


Tracks taken from Prestige LPs by Charles Earland, Johnny "Hammond" Smith, Boogaloo Joe Jones, and Leon Spencer Jr.. Maynard Parker plays on some of the Charles Earland tracks. Sonny Phillips plays on one Joe Jones track, Butch Cornell plays on another Joe Jones track.


  • No Way (Jones)
  • Between the Sheets (Isley / Isley / Isley / Isley / Jasper / Smith)
  • Sunshine Alley (Cornell)
  • Our Love Will Never Die (Spencer)
  • I Feel the Earth Move (King)
  • L and J (Clark)
  • Inside Job (Jones)
  • Fadin' (Jones)
  • Killer Joe (Golson)
Buy from

album cover