tracks musicians

The Soothsayer

Wayne Shorter

Initial release : 1979

Blue Note GXF 3054 / Blue Note LT 988

A previously unreleased session from March 1965. First released in Japan in 1979 and then in the US in 1979 in the Blue Note Classics series. CD releases have one bonus track.


  • Lost (Shorter)
  • Angola (Shorter)
  • The Big Push (Shorter)
  • The Soothsayer (Shorter)
  • Lady Day (Shorter)
  • Valse Triste (Sibelius)
Bonus track on some CD editions
  • Angola (Shorter)

  • Wayne Shorter - tenor saxophone
  • James Spaulding - alto saxophone
  • Freddie Hubbard - trumpet
  • McCoy Tyner - piano
  • Ron Carter - bass
  • Tony Williams - drums
Buy from
album cover
Original LP cover

Buy from
album cover
US Jazz Classics cover

Buy from
album cover
2011 vinyl cover